User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: Balance lead extensions are pence from China, I bought bulk. I also cut the old balance plugs with lead off and if I get a broken plug body I just solder a new one lead to lead, can extend at the same time.
    Today at 14:17:22
  • Reman: Bajadre, With reference to balance leads, I bought a cheap JST XH crimper, plus a shed load of male/female plugs and pins a while back. It's amazing how many times that lots come in handy. Not just for repairing battery packs, But for things like adding quick release plugs to wiring harnesses so you can do things like pop gimbels on and off camera drones quickly, Or add plugs to the cables of hardwired components so you don't have to desolder them when you need to get them out of the way in a rebuild, And making charging extension leads so you can get the battery right into a Li-Po safe bag and away from the expensive charger. They're well worth adding to the toolbox..... The other day I only spent about 5 minutes hunting for my 4S charging lead before giving up and making a new one. If I didn't have the crimping kit I'd probabbly still be looking. :)
    Today at 14:00:55
  • hoverfly: Not unusual Reman, they just cant be ar$ed to deliversome if they get behind schedule.. Yesterday i had a delivery by Herpies,  got a sms telling me when they were going to deliver, then rang the door bell and knocked. The parcel was intact and damage free.  Not sure what is going on.... :hmm:
    Today at 13:23:11
  • Bad Raven: Where is it broken?
    Today at 13:22:29
  • hoverfly: If you cut them off make sure  you insulate the ends. :smiley:
    Today at 13:18:42
  • Bajadre: Quick question guys is it ok to snip off a broken balance lead and not run it i know i wouldnt be able to balance charge it again but would the pack be ok ? its a 3s 5500mah which the lead got dragged along the floor on sundays bahs :(
    Today at 12:44:55
  • Reman: About an hour ago I had the Yodel tracking system tell me that I wasn't in...... That's f*ckin' news to me !!!!!
    Today at 10:17:20
  • Reman: Like I said, In the past I've had a handful of packs "Go off" at me like fireworks after bad crashes (Usually with RC helis), So it's hard to get that image out of your head while stripping down Li-Po's. :)
    January 21, 2019, 11:22:54
  • shawdreamer: the horror stories will always incite worry when messing about with Lipo's but its the same as everything else when working on electronics alike, alsong as your careful and methodical there's very little to panic about, I regularly recycle 4s's with a single dead cell into usable 3s packs, end of the days its alot more economical, safer and enviro friendly than having to bin them....just a pain that the dead cell is NEVER one of the outer cells so you always end up having to strip a good cell off to get at the bad cell before putting it back afterwards, its like dropping toast, it'll always land buttered side down and inevitably covered in pet fur :angry:
    January 21, 2019, 00:11:16
  • Reman: Just did the one electrical job that still scares me. I dismantled some Lipo's with knacked cells and built usable packs out of the good cells. I've had packs go "VOOOOOOSH" at me in the past so I'm always slightly scared of having bare lipo contacts anywhere near what I'm working on, But all appears to have gone well and one of them is currently doing a charge/discharge cycle to make sure nothings a miss. :)
    January 20, 2019, 22:28:43
  • Reman: My original Dremel Pro made it to 14 years of heavy weekend use (And abuse) before it crocked. Dismantled that but it turned out to be a "Control module" fault, And Dremel made it ni on impossible to get into that without pooching it completely. :(
    January 20, 2019, 22:17:27
  • ched999uk: BR  ::)
    January 16, 2019, 22:26:54
  • Bad Raven: That's a warrnty claim if ever I heard one....
    January 16, 2019, 20:32:55
  • ched999uk: My 28 year old 12v 35w Weller soldering iron failed  :( I didn't fancy forking out £100 for a new one. Stripped it down and found conductor snapped in cable. 10Mins later all back working great. :smiley: ::) I am very happy!!
    January 16, 2019, 17:23:06
  • shawdreamer: "look up there....its a drone!.....and whats this noise?..... no.....no..... it cant be!....NOOOOOOOO.......OOOOOOOOOOOOOPS I DID IT AGAIN, I PLAYED WITH YOUR HEAR....."
    January 10, 2019, 14:17:24
  • shawdreamer: <starts downloading britney spears albums and preping his large frame to carry a PA system>
    January 10, 2019, 14:15:08
  • Bajadre: defo steveo :) we should get loads of drones together up there so how they handle more that one lol
    January 08, 2019, 19:39:07
  • steveo9007: its all a ploy to get who ever has won the contract for geofencing the airport in, i reckon  ::)
    January 08, 2019, 18:38:26
  • Bajadre: more lies hope they prepped the police staement already lol
    January 08, 2019, 18:27:49
  • Bad Raven: Take Offs resumed
    January 08, 2019, 18:24:45

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Power Pylons  (Read 145 times)

Offline chris kettle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
Power Pylons
« on: January 12, 2019, 11:51:33 »
Can anyone tell me if it is legal or illegal to fly over electricity pylons (cables) at a decent height ie clearing them by approx. 100ft or so. I have the NATS drone assist app installed on my phone and it shows the pylons but just says caution .
Xiaomi fimi A3 Drone. Viper FXT FPV goggles

Offline Two-Six

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Liked: 372
  • Country: gb
  • Have I had my biscuites yet?
Re: Power Pylons
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2019, 12:55:34 »
It probably is legal to fly near electricity pylons as long as you don't get closer than 50 meters although I am not sure if a pylon counts as a building or "property" as such.

Arguing your case of legality with an authoritarian numpty might not be such a great thing to experience. 

I wouldn't be surprised if you kick of a major terrorist incident by trying to film vital strategic infrastructure....  :banghead:

Mental, its not going to hurt the pylon much if you do crash into it. 

I would be more worried about loosing control of your aircraft or loosing video signal, those power lines emit a lot of RF noise and EMF radiation.

If you do crash it and get it stuck in the wires, don't be tempted to poke it out with a carbon fishing pole or a long rope or a bit of wire...please. 

I guess you might be too young to remember what happened to that 70's kid when he got his kite stuck on high tension wires....



Nighthawk Pro, Trex 450 L Dominator 6 cell *FLOWN*, Blade 450-3D, MCPX-BL, MCPX-V2, Hubsan X4, Seagull Boomerang IC .40 trainer, HK Bixler, AXN Clouds fly,, Spektrum DX7, Taranis, AccuRC

Offline shawdreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1425
  • Liked: 832
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Power Pylons
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2019, 12:57:45 »
Im a little dumbfounded your actually  finding the need to ask such a question?

Forget about the laws and restrictions for a moment and just place in terms of common sense, flying close to power lines at the best of times is pure lunacy in my opinion, as well as the chance of pilot error you have to take into consideration just what level of interference power lines can have with you control frequencies which further increases the chances of a crash.

Then add in the actual average  height of UK pylons being 180ft minimum youll need a fair degree of clearance altitude to be sure to avoid interference which will probably see you knocking on UK height restrictions.

Why do you need to fly over them anyway?
550 custom H-copter (redesigned)
zmr250
Reaper250 V.1
Podracer v2
zmr250Hybrid
250 Twinboard
Project Sparkie (under repair)
https://www.thingiverse.com/shawdreamer/designs

Offline Two-Six

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Liked: 372
  • Country: gb
  • Have I had my biscuites yet?
Re: Power Pylons
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2019, 12:59:40 »
A very good question  ~~
Nighthawk Pro, Trex 450 L Dominator 6 cell *FLOWN*, Blade 450-3D, MCPX-BL, MCPX-V2, Hubsan X4, Seagull Boomerang IC .40 trainer, HK Bixler, AXN Clouds fly,, Spektrum DX7, Taranis, AccuRC

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3078
  • Liked: 671
  • Country: gb
Re: Power Pylons
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2019, 13:47:53 »
I fly under the power lines with no issues other than a very slight interference with video signal. That said I am trying to stay under about 30ft so not that close. Reason being is that the local field I have permission to fly on has power lines running over the corner.

I wouldn't try and do power loops or anything like that over them and I just stay as far away as possible.

Look at it another way, if you crashed conductive carbon fibre onto hv power lines what damage could be caused? Masses, it would short the hv lines and maybe take out cables or a sub station. Imagine the cost that you could be sued for!!!!!

Offline chris kettle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
Re: Power Pylons
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2019, 14:24:17 »
Hi. thanks for the responses it just that would like to fly over or under some pylons to reach the estuary and wondered what the legalities are. 
Xiaomi fimi A3 Drone. Viper FXT FPV goggles