User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: Balance lead extensions are pence from China, I bought bulk. I also cut the old balance plugs with lead off and if I get a broken plug body I just solder a new one lead to lead, can extend at the same time.
    Today at 14:17:22
  • Reman: Bajadre, With reference to balance leads, I bought a cheap JST XH crimper, plus a shed load of male/female plugs and pins a while back. It's amazing how many times that lots come in handy. Not just for repairing battery packs, But for things like adding quick release plugs to wiring harnesses so you can do things like pop gimbels on and off camera drones quickly, Or add plugs to the cables of hardwired components so you don't have to desolder them when you need to get them out of the way in a rebuild, And making charging extension leads so you can get the battery right into a Li-Po safe bag and away from the expensive charger. They're well worth adding to the toolbox..... The other day I only spent about 5 minutes hunting for my 4S charging lead before giving up and making a new one. If I didn't have the crimping kit I'd probabbly still be looking. :)
    Today at 14:00:55
  • hoverfly: Not unusual Reman, they just cant be ar$ed to deliversome if they get behind schedule.. Yesterday i had a delivery by Herpies,  got a sms telling me when they were going to deliver, then rang the door bell and knocked. The parcel was intact and damage free.  Not sure what is going on.... :hmm:
    Today at 13:23:11
  • Bad Raven: Where is it broken?
    Today at 13:22:29
  • hoverfly: If you cut them off make sure  you insulate the ends. :smiley:
    Today at 13:18:42
  • Bajadre: Quick question guys is it ok to snip off a broken balance lead and not run it i know i wouldnt be able to balance charge it again but would the pack be ok ? its a 3s 5500mah which the lead got dragged along the floor on sundays bahs :(
    Today at 12:44:55
  • Reman: About an hour ago I had the Yodel tracking system tell me that I wasn't in...... That's f*ckin' news to me !!!!!
    Today at 10:17:20
  • Reman: Like I said, In the past I've had a handful of packs "Go off" at me like fireworks after bad crashes (Usually with RC helis), So it's hard to get that image out of your head while stripping down Li-Po's. :)
    January 21, 2019, 11:22:54
  • shawdreamer: the horror stories will always incite worry when messing about with Lipo's but its the same as everything else when working on electronics alike, alsong as your careful and methodical there's very little to panic about, I regularly recycle 4s's with a single dead cell into usable 3s packs, end of the days its alot more economical, safer and enviro friendly than having to bin them....just a pain that the dead cell is NEVER one of the outer cells so you always end up having to strip a good cell off to get at the bad cell before putting it back afterwards, its like dropping toast, it'll always land buttered side down and inevitably covered in pet fur :angry:
    January 21, 2019, 00:11:16
  • Reman: Just did the one electrical job that still scares me. I dismantled some Lipo's with knacked cells and built usable packs out of the good cells. I've had packs go "VOOOOOOSH" at me in the past so I'm always slightly scared of having bare lipo contacts anywhere near what I'm working on, But all appears to have gone well and one of them is currently doing a charge/discharge cycle to make sure nothings a miss. :)
    January 20, 2019, 22:28:43
  • Reman: My original Dremel Pro made it to 14 years of heavy weekend use (And abuse) before it crocked. Dismantled that but it turned out to be a "Control module" fault, And Dremel made it ni on impossible to get into that without pooching it completely. :(
    January 20, 2019, 22:17:27
  • ched999uk: BR  ::)
    January 16, 2019, 22:26:54
  • Bad Raven: That's a warrnty claim if ever I heard one....
    January 16, 2019, 20:32:55
  • ched999uk: My 28 year old 12v 35w Weller soldering iron failed  :( I didn't fancy forking out £100 for a new one. Stripped it down and found conductor snapped in cable. 10Mins later all back working great. :smiley: ::) I am very happy!!
    January 16, 2019, 17:23:06
  • shawdreamer: "look up there....its a drone!.....and whats this noise?..... no.....no..... it cant be!....NOOOOOOOO.......OOOOOOOOOOOOOPS I DID IT AGAIN, I PLAYED WITH YOUR HEAR....."
    January 10, 2019, 14:17:24
  • shawdreamer: <starts downloading britney spears albums and preping his large frame to carry a PA system>
    January 10, 2019, 14:15:08
  • Bajadre: defo steveo :) we should get loads of drones together up there so how they handle more that one lol
    January 08, 2019, 19:39:07
  • steveo9007: its all a ploy to get who ever has won the contract for geofencing the airport in, i reckon  ::)
    January 08, 2019, 18:38:26
  • Bajadre: more lies hope they prepped the police staement already lol
    January 08, 2019, 18:27:49
  • Bad Raven: Take Offs resumed
    January 08, 2019, 18:24:45

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!  (Read 475 times)

Offline Yago González Amat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« on: December 11, 2018, 16:16:31 »
Hello people!
This might be that I am just so new to this world that I havent internalised yet as you change something problem witll arise xD
The thing is that recently i got my first quad, an eachine x220s RTF, super fun, great to learn, break it fix it and learn through this path. Cool
I thought it would be a good idea to flash the firmware of the FC to the latest version 3.5.3 at this moment, so Im up to date.
Right… I backed up my diff in CLI to paste it after the update. my surprise was that after the update I found a bunch of unknown problems out of nothing. Let me tell you that I was flying my quad happily before the update withouth major problems, I just updated to see if current monitoring improved.
First of all I started having “runaway” problem in the OSD. After searching and searching… I realised the update disorientated my flight controller and pitch and roll weren’t where they were supposed to be… bloody hell, ok thats fixed now.
Most of the time when I plug my battery i get a constant beeping from the quad and not responding to transmitter, then I start turning on and off the transmitter, and the quad untill it locks and then the quad works fine. Not until I arm the quad for about 1 minute, take off and I get a couple beeps with the message RXLOSS in the OSD (the receiver FS-A8S still having a red solid led, so hasn’t loos communication with transmitter)
On top of everything I get constantly a message in the OSD when not armed, stating BATT < FULL. WTF??? This doesnt disappear if I change the maximum minimum or warning voltage in BF, only disappears (i think) if i deselect the voltage monitoring in BF.
Ohh… This is exhausting and frustrating!! Is it normal to get so many problems after updating firmware or is just my inexperience?
In BF configuration tab there is something regarding RSSI signal. neither my receiver or my transmitter have telemetry, is this maybe triggering false failsafe?? i will try to deactivate this feature, but if anything that I mentioned happened to you before would be great your opinion!
Thankss!

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3078
  • Liked: 671
  • Country: gb
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2018, 16:48:01 »
:welcome:

Changing between minor changes in BetaFlight (BF) is normally painless i.e. going from 3.4 to 3.4.1. Going between major releases is sometimes difficult as things can get renamed.

You did the right thing taking a diff as you can go back to the old version and all is good again.

What version where you running before you flashed 3.5.3?

I know Josh Bardwell did some youtube videos on changing BF versions. It might be worth having a look there as there may be some changes needed. 

Offline Yago González Amat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2018, 17:01:20 »
Stock version was 3.1.7. And well... Ive searched a lot on internet about this issue, but havent found a solution yet... And yes i explored bradwells channel, and nothing...
if it helps here are old and current diff

old:

diff

version
Betaflight / OMNIBUSF4SD 3.1.7 Apr 10 2017 / 17:10:55 ()
name
resources
mixer
servo
servo mix
feature
feature CURRENT_METER
feature RSSI_ADC
feature LED_STRIP
feature AIRMODE

beeper
map
serial
serial 5 64 115200 57600 0 115200

led
led 0 0,11::L:8
led 1 0,12::AOI:8
led 2 0,13::AOI:2
led 3 0,14::AOI:2
led 4 0,15::L:2
led 5 15,11::L:8
led 6 15,12::AOI:8
led 7 15,13::AOI:2
led 8 15,14::AOI:2
led 9 15,15::L:2

color
mode_color
mode_color 6 0 2
mode_color 7 0 0

aux
aux 0 0 0 1700 2100
aux 1 1 3 1250 1675
aux 2 13 2 1700 2100
aux 3 15 1 1650 2050

adjrange
rxrange
rxfail
rxfail 6 s 1800

master
set motor_pwm_protocol = DSHOT600
set serialrx_provider = SBUS
set vbat_max_cell_voltage = 42
set vbat_warning_cell_voltage = 34
set ibat_scale = 3371
set failsafe_delay = 5
set acc_trim_pitch = 6
set osd_cap_alarm = 1500
set osd_vbat_pos = 2092
set osd_rssi_pos = 2105
set osd_ontimer_pos = 376
set osd_flymode_pos = 429
set osd_throttle_pos = 326
set osd_horizon_pos = 110
set osd_current_pos = 2391
set osd_mah_drawn_pos = 2422
set osd_altitude_pos = 23

profile
profile 0

rateprofile 0

rateprofile
rateprofile 0

set rc_rate = 120
set rc_rate_yaw = 101

Current diff:

diff
version
Betaflight / OMNIBUSF4 (OBF4) 3.5.3 Nov 15 2018 / 00:17:46 (61d5abf00) MSP API: 1.40
board_name OMNIBUSF4
manufacturer_id AIRB

name
resources
mixer
servo
servo mix
feature
feature -RX_PARALLEL_PWM
feature RX_SERIAL
feature LED_STRIP
feature AIRMODE

beeper
beacon
map
serial
serial 5 64 115200 57600 0 115200

led
led 0 0,11::L:8
led 1 0,12::AOI:8
led 2 0,13::AOI:2
led 3 0,14::AOI:2
led 4 0,15::L:2
led 5 15,11::L:8
led 6 15,12::AOI:8
led 7 15,13::AOI:2
led 8 15,14::AOI:2
led 9 15,15::L:2

color
mode_color
mode_color 6 0 2
mode_color 7 0 0

aux
aux 0 0 0 1700 2100 0 0
aux 1 1 3 1250 1675 0 0
aux 2 13 2 1700 2100 0 0
aux 3 15 1 1650 2050 0 0

adjrange
rxrange
vtx
rxfail
rxfail 6 s 1800

master
set acc_calibration = 60,90,-251
set mag_hardware = NONE
set serialrx_provider = SBUS
set motor_pwm_protocol = DSHOT600
set failsafe_delay = 5
set align_board_yaw = 90
set vbat_warning_cell_voltage = 34
set current_meter = NONE
set ibata_scale = 1300
set osd_cap_alarm = 1500
set osd_vbat_pos = 2071
set osd_rssi_pos = 57
set osd_remaining_time_estimate_pos = 2423
set osd_flymode_pos = 429
set osd_throttle_pos = 326
set osd_current_pos = 343
set osd_mah_drawn_pos = 374
set osd_altitude_pos = 2453
set osd_warnings_pos = 2442
set osd_avg_cell_voltage_pos = 2103
set osd_battery_usage_pos = 2048

profile
profile 0

rateprofile
rateprofile 0

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3078
  • Liked: 671
  • Country: gb
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 17:18:13 »
3.1.7 to 3.5.3 is a HUGE jump. I am no expert in BF by any stretch, but changing from 3.1 to 3.5 is massive. There are so many things that have changed I am almost surprised it actually flies at all.
My best guess, and it is a guess, is to do a complete FW reset (FW full chip erase) and then set it up from scratch with 3.5.3.

Be aware that you will also have a lot of extra setup to do with regard to PID setups etc as the filtering, smoothing and all sorts of things have changed.
This might help you understand a bit about the jump from 3.3 to 3.4 https://oscarliang.com/betaflight-tuning/
I am not sure what the setup jump is from 3.4 to 3.5 but it might not be as big.

I would do lots of reading up on setting up BF 3.5 and see if anyone has a good writeup/video for your wizard. THEN I would decide if I would update to 3.5.3 or just go back to 3.1.7 and load my diff file back on.

Offline Yago González Amat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2018, 17:44:23 »
ched999uk thanks for you reply. i can see this is not like updating android in you smartphone.
i think ill go back to 3.1.7, and like you mentioned, anytime i want to mess with new updates, read before very carfully, after all probably no every version of BF is good to go with any quadcopter isint?
Are the PID settings stored in the diff file? because stock PIDs were quiet decent at least for my flights now.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • Liked: 660
  • Country: gb
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2018, 18:25:04 »
Hi Yago!

Something not quite right here.

AFAICS Banggood list the Eachine X220S as having a F3 controller. Your dump shows F4.

That alone, if so, would be enough to screw up operation.

Offline Yago González Amat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2018, 18:38:51 »
Hi Yago!

Something not quite right here.

AFAICS Banggood list the Eachine X220S as having a F3 controller. Your dump shows F4.

That alone, if so, would be enough to screw up operation.

I dont think thats correct. I think the previous version, the x220 was sold with an F£, but the x220s version comes with an F4 V3.
Thats the one I bought

https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-Wizard-X220S-FPV-Racer-Omnibus-F4-5_8G-72CH-VTX-30A-Dshot600-800TVL-w-iRangeX-iRX-i6X-RTF-p-1153989.html?rmmds=category&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc_ods&utm_content=ysq&utm_campaign=eachine-skw-x220s-1&ad_id=301201971498&gclid=CjwKCAjw9sreBRBAEiwARroYm9luUjgCRJQcmvqf1RaKi56MAxSt3MudoWvhv5pXop7cihTlmztZ7hoCJwMQAvD_BwE&ID=42482&cur_warehouse=CN

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3078
  • Liked: 671
  • Country: gb
Re: Betaflight 3.5.3 firmware update broke my quad!
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2018, 19:59:07 »
ched999uk thanks for you reply. i can see this is not like updating android in you smartphone.
i think ill go back to 3.1.7, and like you mentioned, anytime i want to mess with new updates, read before very carfully, after all probably no every version of BF is good to go with any quadcopter isint?
Are the PID settings stored in the diff file? because stock PIDs were quiet decent at least for my flights now.
I believe the DIFF command just lists the difference between standard BF settings and the ones in use at the time the diff command is used. So I guess as your PIDs are not in your diff file you were running standard 3.1.7 PIDs.
Just for info there is aso a DUMP command that lists every setting even if it's default settings. So you have everything in a file but it will be big.

I think the change to BF 3.4 was a big change. I keep meaning to update my quads as I think most of them are on 3.2. After watching Josh and Oscar's stuff I can't really be bothered as they seem to fly OK to me not that my skills push anything other than the quad into the ground  ::) ::) ::)

If/when I build a new quad I would update the FC to newest version and configure from scratch but I am too unsure of all the tweeks to update existing quads.